Friday, July 1, 2022
Select menu item

Engler-Friedlaender Memorial Trophy

In July of 1998, the American Hanoverian Society saw the passing of two of its most prominent members in former President Hermann Friedlaender and long-time board member Dr. Reto Engler. Each in his own way served the Society with distinction for many years. That fall, John and Tracy Weyl, owners of Maplewood Farm in Lexington, Ky., approached the AHS with a generous offer to memorialize Mr. Friedlaender and Dr. Engler through the creation and donation to the Society of a unique perpetual trophy. Created by world-renowned artist Karen Kasper, the Engler-Friedlaender Memorial Trophy is a one-of-a-kind work of art. Created in relief bronze, it features a montage of a mare going through her inspection and mare performance test.

At the specific request of Mr. and Mrs. Weyl, the trophy is awarded each year to the Hanoverian mare that achieves the highest mare performance test score during the annual inspections. During AHS’s 1999 annual meeting held in Lexington, Ky., John was on hand to personally present this beautiful trophy to Nancy Gooding, owner of the inaugural winner, EM Gretchen PCH. The full list of recipients is as follows:

Engler-Friedlaender Memorial Trophy Winners

YearHorsePedigreeMPT ScoreOwnerBreeder
2021Dante's PrincessDante Weltino-Wie Liebe/Wolkenstein II7.97Marne Martin-TuckerJerry Glynne
2020RockelleRotspon-Wiesling/Wolkentanz I 7.83Angela MirarchiAngela Mirarchi
2019HPMC Crazy for CalypsoCoconut Grove-Crazy Lady/Crazy Classic8.38Valerie FoxValerie Fox
2018HPMC Eleanor(Escudo II-Apt to Please xx/Pleasant Tap xx)8.05Max GerdesMax Gerdes, Calif.
2017HPM Real Emotions RHR(Raphael Son II-Pagoda/Prinz Gaylord)8.52Carlos & Gabriela FernandezSharon Pike, Texas
2016 (tie)HPMC Brianka SGF(Baroncelli-EM Anaconda G/Acord II)8Liz Adrian KrugSandra Hunt
HPMC Wiktoria FH(Wolkentanz II-EM Del Amika/Donnerhall)8Eliza RutherfordEliza Rutherford
2015EMC Whitney MRF(Wolkenstein II-EM Dacia MRF/Diamond Hit)8.41Maple Run FarmMaple Run Farm, Wis.
2014EM Bliss SQF(Belissimo M-SPS Rose/Rotspon)8.30Jill PetersonJill Peterson, Texas
2013EMC Furst Daylight(Furst Impression-Amelia Bedelia/Anhaltiner E)8.16Mary ManningMary Manning, N.C.
2012EMC Laus Deo(Landkoenig-Ghizelle/Graf Top II)8.44Manessa Donovan and Gustavo RodriguezStacie Fenderson, Calif.
2011EMC Radiance HVH(Rotspon-EM Whitney BH/Welser)8.78High Valley HanoveriansHigh Valley Hanoverians, Ga.
2010EMC Bahai(Baroncelli-SPS Rose/Rotspon)8.08River House HanoveriansOtto Rudolf Fuchs, Ger.
2009EMC Enjoy(Escudo I-Cherrybomb/Calypso II)8.83Evelynn Major, Calif.Gabriele Schliffka, Ger.
2008EMC First Class M(Fabriano-SPS Wega/Wendekreis)8.50Michaela ZintHorst Erxleben, Ger.
2007EMC Risque(Rabino-EM Saoanjul/Sao Paulo)8.00Paula & Grace LunberryElizabeth Schump, Colo.
2006EMC Rococca WF(Rienzi-Turteltaubchen/Tin Rocco)8.50Vanessa CarlsonVanessa Carlson, Okla.
2005EMC Fallon SLH(Fabriano-EM Weltlady/Weltruhm)8.50Nona HendersonNona Henderson, Wash.
2004EMC Rosabella(Rohdiamant-Westminster/Watzmann)8.61Rebecca HopfnerKerstin Ohlemeyer, Ger.
2003EMC Ella P.(Espri-Girondeaux/Garibaldi II)8.77Leatherdale FarmChristian Pfiel, Ger.
2002EM Mathilda(Magic-EM Frederika/Feiner Stern)8.33William D. MulhollandWilliam D. Mulholland, Ont.
2001 (tie)EM Decuma(Davignon-SPS Wintersong/Weltmeyer)8.17Marefield MeadowsMarefield Meadows, Va.
EMC Weltlady(Weltmeyer-Wolke/Werther)8.17Bertrand A. Page IIGuenter Ewald, Ger.
2000EM Mabb(Maronjo-EM Lorelei/Lortzing)7.78Marefield MeadowsMarefield Meadows, Va.
1999EM Wonder Girl(Wonderful-SPS Comtesse/Cordial)8.33Leatherdale FarmsReinhard Brandt, Ger.
1998EM Gretchen PCH(Gloster-Equarina/Ecuador xx)8.33Nancy GoodingJohann Loehden, Ger.